LANXESS worldwide

Corporate Website en | de

Asia

EMEA

Americas

Interactive Worldmap

Find all the contact information for the LANXESS sites worldwide

find out more
Contact

History of Rhein Chemie in a Nutshell

Welcome to a short journey through 125 years of Rhein Chemie

In 2014, as we celebrate our 125th anniversary, we can look back with pride on our impressive company history: 125 years in which our motto, “Focusing on Progress,” has always guided us to new challenges, opportunities and success through exciting developments, technologies and industries.

As you look through these pages, we would like to 
invite you to find out more about the most significant milestones along our path – from a small chemical start-up in Mannheim at the turn of the 20th century to a highly diversified provider of customized, premium solutions that are in demand all over the world in this new millennium.

1889: Our Beginnings

Our long history of success begins with the establishment of the general partnership Müller & Dubois OHG, registered by the young chemists Dr. Albert Müller and Dr. Hermann Dubois in 1889 in the company register of the Mannheim district court. Our first products are chlorine compounds for cleaning agents and solvents. Just one year after it was founded, the company moved 20 kilometers (about 12 ½ miles) from Waldhof to Rheinau, where company headquarters are still located today.

1900: Pioneers in the Rubber Industry

Here, where Carl Benz designed the first modern automobile, the company’s founding fathers envision an area of operations with huge growth potential early on: the rubber industry. Even before the turn of the century, due to advances in rubber processing, natural rubber has become scarce and expensive. Based on the initiative of the new partner, Dr. Victor Kaufmann, in 1902 we start manufacturing factice – an extender for natural rubber. This material is still used today in a wide variety of products

1923: Early commitment to sustainability: 
In the 1920s we turn towards reprocessing and recycling of waste rubber and production scrap – an early example of technological sustainability as it continues to shape our current company consciousness today. The recycled, so-called reclaimed rubber is an important component in the manufacture of technical rubber products such as hoses, seals or molded items in times of rapid progress in motorization. Reclaimed material production remains a mainstay in the company from 1923 until the mid-1960s. In 1926, Dr. Kaufmann and like-minded colleagues found the Deutsche Kautschukgesellschaft (DKG, German Rubber Association).

1936: Extending the product range
Starting in 1936, the rubber experts in the Rheinau factory develop many substitute materials with which they provide our first processing promoters for rubber compounds. For example, Aktiplast®: this substitute for stearic acid makes processing natural rubber easier. In 1941, the company is renamed Rhein Chemie GmbH. World War II leads to decreasing resources, which also compels Rhein Chemie to begin with war production in 1942. In the following years, the most important products are factice, reclaimed rubber and processing promoters. In 1950, liquid release agents and anti-sun check waxes are added.

1956: Expertise for the lubricant industry...
In 1956, we start producing lubricant additives. Alongside additives for motor oils, in 1957 we develop our first light-colored sulfur carriers (EP additives) and corrosion inhibitors. Based on this foundation, as the years go on we establish a comprehensive product range of additives for industrial lubricants. In the commissioning of our technical facility for chemical reactions in 1965, we reinforce our excellent position in advanced facility technology.

… and for the plastics industry:
Rhein Chemie recognizes new opportunities for growth in the increasing use of plastics in automobile manufacturing – in 1961, our plastics department starts operation. At first, we also manufacture large containers from polyethylene; specialization in plastics additives comes later. This lays the foundation for today’s business lines – rubber, lubricants and plastics.

1971: Innovative Developments under a new roof:
In 1971, Rhein Chemie Rheinau GmbH becomes part of Bayer AG – and in so doing, Bayer becomes the provider with the most comprehensive portfolio of rubber chemicals. In the same year we start production of Rhenogran®. Thanks to highly innovative characteristics in areas such as energy saving, scrap reduction, and health and environmental protection, these polymer-bound rubber additives become true bestsellers, which today’s rubber industry can no longer do without.

In 1972, the close cooperation with Bayer results in the expansion of business in the plastics 
sector. The new product range includes hydrolysis stabilizers, which become well known all over the world in 1973 under the brand name Stabaxol®. In addition, our portfolio of lubricant additives, which has continually expanded since the 1950s, is brought together under the former Bayer trademark name Additin® – since then, the name Additin has stood for the highest standards in the international lubricant industry. In 1976, with our multi-purpose chemical facility, we achieve a breakthrough in the production of high-quality lubricant and plastics additives

1987: Rhein Chemie becomes a global player
During the 1980s and 90s, in the expansion of our research and production activities we achieve a strong position in the most significant international market regions. For example, in 1987 we acquire Wyrough and Loser, a manufacturer of polymer-bound chemicals in the USA, and in 1990 we start production for rubber additives in Japan. In 1996 production of lubricant additives begins in Belgium. In 1999 our Chinese facility opens and manufactures our entire product range for rubber processors in China; later we add lubricant additives as well. We continue to expand our business in the USA with the acquisition of Elastochem, a provider of individualized customer services and rubber additives. In 2000 we expand our production capacity in Japan. In 2002 we start production in Brazil, thereby strengthening our position in Latin America.

2004: Rhein Chemie becomes a part of LANXESS
Starting in 2004, after more than 30 years under the roof of Bayer AG, Rhein Chemie becomes a business unit of LANXESS. The chemical division spun off of Bayer becomes part of the newly established specialty chemicals group. In the coming years, this new connection will prove a solid foundation for success – both for Rhein Chemie as well as for the entire LANXESS Group.

2005: Establishment of production facilities worldwide
In the new millennium, international activities undergo successful expansion. New facilities are opened and existing facilities and Technical Competence Centers are expanded in China (2006, 2008, 2012, 2013), India (2005, 2007, 2012), Germany (2006, 2008, 2013), the USA (2006, 2012), Brazil (2013), Argentina (2011) and Russia (2013). Today Rhein Chemie has a highly productive network of production facilities and Technical Competence Centers in all regions of the world.

  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery

LANXESS worldwide

Corporate Website en | de

Asia

EMEA

Americas

Interactive Worldmap

Find all the contact information for the LANXESS sites worldwide

find out more
联系我们

莱茵化学历史一览

欢迎来到莱茵化学125年历史长廊

2014年,在庆祝莱茵化学125周年的生日之际,籍此我们也回顾了令人为之骄傲的历史。在这125年中,“关注发展”的公司理念,始终引导我们面对新的挑战和机遇,并且引领我们在高速发展的技术和产业中迈向成功。


翻开这段历史的每一页,你可以在莱茵化学的发展历程中找到很多非常重要的时刻——从曼海姆的一家小型化学制品企业,到如今的一家可以在全球范围内为客户提供优质和个性化服务的多元化供应商。

1889:公司起源

1889年,两位年轻的化学家Albert Müller博士和Hermann Dubois博士在德国曼海姆地方法院的公司注册处,注册成立了Müller和Dubois无限责任公司(普通合伙公司),由此开启了我们悠久的历史。公司首批产品为用于清洁剂和溶剂的氯化合物。公司成立一年后,从瓦尔德霍夫(Waldhof)搬迁到20公里(约12.5英里)外的莱脑(Rheinau),也就是如今公司总部的所在地。

1900:橡胶工业的先驱者

当卡尔•奔驰(Carl Benz)设计出世界上首辆现代汽车之时,公司的几位创始人就预测到了一个存在着巨大增长潜力的业务领域:橡胶工业。即使在进入二十世纪之前,由于橡胶加工技术的进步,天然橡胶已经变得稀缺且昂贵。由此1902年,根据公司新合伙人Victor Kaufmann博士的提议,我们开始生产油膏,即天然橡胶的填充油。这种材料今天仍广泛应用于各类产品。

1923:早期致力于可持续发展
在二十世纪20年代,我们转向了对废旧橡胶的再生利用——这是我们在技术上可持续发展的早期雏形。至今,这种可持续发展理念仍然是我们的主导理念。在机动化工业快速发展的时代,再生橡胶已成为生产工业橡胶制品的重要原料,其可用来生产软管、密封件和成型品等。从1923年到二十世纪60年代中期,再生材料生产一直是我们的主业。1926年,Kaufmann博士与志同道合的同事们创立了Deutsche Kautschukgesellschaft(DKG,德国橡胶协会)。

1936:扩大产品范围
从1936年开始,莱脑工厂的橡胶专家们开发了多种橡胶替代品,据此公司第一次生产出橡胶化合物的加工助剂。如:莱茵塑分®是硬脂酸的替代品,使用它能更容易加工天然橡胶。1941年,公司更名为莱茵化学有限公司。由于第二次世界大战导致资源不断减少,也迫使莱茵化学于1942年开始从事军工生产。在随后的几年里,我们最重要的产品是油膏、再生橡胶和加工助剂。1950年,我们又增加了液体隔离剂和微晶防护蜡这两类产品。

1956:专攻润滑油行业
1956年,我们开始生产润滑油添加剂。1957年,除了车用机油的添加剂,我们还首次开发出了浅色硫载体(极压添加剂)和抗腐蚀剂。在此基础上,经过多年的不懈努力,逐步建立了全面完善的工业润滑油添加剂的产品种类。1965年,我们的化学反应技术设备投产成功,进一步增强了莱茵化学在生产设施先进技术方面的卓越地位。


塑料行业的专长
随着汽车制造业的发展,莱茵化学从中发现了新的增长机会──1961年,公司的塑料部门开始运营。最初,我们的产品是用聚乙烯制造大型容器,后来转为生产塑料添加剂。由此奠定了今天公司最主要的几条产品线──橡胶、润滑油和塑料。

1971:新架构下的创新发展
化学品供应商。同年,莱茵能®开始生产。由于其在节省能源、减少废料、健康和环保等方面拥有高度创新性,这类预分散聚合物型橡胶助剂成为了非常畅销的产品,也是当今橡胶工业必不可少的用品。


在与拜耳的密切合作下,1972年莱茵化学扩大了其在塑料行业的业务。新产品种类增加了Stabaxol®抗水解稳定剂。1973年该抗水解稳定剂在全世界范围内广泛应用。此外,自二十世纪50年代以来,公司也在不断扩大润滑油添加剂的生产线,并以从前属于拜耳公司的注册商标Additin®命名──至此以后,Additin®品牌代表了国际润滑油行业的最高标准。1976年,随着多功能化学品生产设备的投入使用,公司在生产优质润滑油添加剂和塑料添加剂方面实现了重大突破。

1987:莱茵化学成为全球性企业
二十世纪80至90年代,由于我们不断拓展研发和生产活动,在国际市场上取得了强有力的地位。例如,我们在1987年收购了美国Wyrough和Loser公司(预分散聚合物化学品生产商),并于1990年在日本开始生产橡胶助剂。1996年,我们开始在比利时生产润滑油添加剂。1999年,我们在中国的生产设施开始运营,生产公司所有种类的橡胶助剂类产品和润滑油添加剂。之后,通过收购美国Elastochem公司(提供个性化客户服务和橡胶助剂的供应商),我们持续拓展在美国的业务。2000年,我们扩大在日本的产能。2002年,我们在巴西开始制造产品,从而增强在拉丁美洲的竞争地位。

莱茵化学公司加入朗盛集团
在作为拜耳集团的子公司30多年后,莱茵化学从2004年开始成为朗盛集团的一个业务部门。作为从拜耳集团分离出来的化学品子公司,莱茵化学加入了新组建的特殊化学品集团(朗盛集团)。无论对莱茵化学,还是整个朗盛集团来讲,此举都将为他们未来的成功奠定坚实的基础。

2005:全球范围内建立生产设施
新千年里,莱茵化学成功地在全球范围内投入新的生产设施。公司在下列国家不断投入,并持续扩大原有的生产设施和技术中心:中国(2006年、2008年、2012年、2013年)、印度(2005年、2007年、2012年)、德国(2006年、2008年、2013年)、美国(2006年、2012年)、巴西(2013年)、阿根廷(2011年)、俄罗斯(2013年)。 如今,莱茵化学在全世界范围内已建立了一个高效的生产设施及技术中心网络。

  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery
  • Gallery